Harry J. Brown

(-2 Jun 1949)

Brown, Harry J. Suddenly, on Thursday, June 2, 1949, at his home, 6412 Ridgewood ave., Chevy Chase, Md., Harry J. Brown, beloved brother of Mrs. Marjorie Rush and Mrs. Frances Demarest. Remains resting at the Bethesda-Chevy Chase Funeral Home of Robert A. Pumphrey, Bethesda, Md., where funeral services will be held Monday, June 6, at 11:30 a.m. Interment Congressional Cemetery.

The Evening Star, June 3, 1949, p. A12

Rites Set Tomorrow For Harry J. Brown Capitol Correspondent

Funeral services for Harry J. Brown, 71, Washington correspondent for Western newspapers for more than 50 years, will be held at 11:30 a.m. tomorrow in the Pumphrey funeral home, 7557 Wisconsin avenue, Bethesda. Burial will be in Congressional Cemetery.

Mr. Brown, a native of Washington, died Thursday, at his home, 6412 Ridgewood avenue, Chevy Chase, after a heart attack. Dean of the House and Senate press galleries, he had been a member of both for 52 years and was the senior member in point of service. He belonged to the Gridiron Club for 35 years and was its president in 1928.

The National Press Club, of which Mr. Brown was a charter member, has delegated the following committee to attend the services: Fred Steckman, Walker S. Buel, Earl Venable, Richard L. Wilson, Gould Lincoln, Arthur Sears Henning, Harold M. Talburt, Harvey D. Jacob, John Russell Young, Carter Field, James Barnes, Y.P. Yoder, Mar Foote, Clarence G. Marshall, Charles O. Gridley, Carlisle Sargeron, Ira Bennett, Stephen Walter, Frank B. Lord, Lawrence Sullivan, Jerome Fanciulli J.R. Hildebrand, Thomas Kirby, and John C. O'Brien.

The Standing Committee of Correspondents representing the press galleries of Congress has appointed the following newspapermen who cover the Capital to attend the funeral: George Rothwell Brown, Samuel W. Bell, William P. Flythe, Bulkley Griffin Mr. Lincoln A. Foote, Edward T. Folliard, Paul J. McGahan, Gladstone, Williams and Hal Smith.

Members of the Standing Committee of Corresondents who will attend are: William S. White, chairman; William F. Arbogast, secretary; David Sotter, Philip Dodd, Robert D. Byrnes, Harold R. Beckley and William J. Donaldson, jr.